Our group has co-organized the Vienna Summer of Logic.

Research

Fundamental research topics include software model checking, test case generation, static analysis, protocol verification, and formal methods for distributed and concurrent systems. Industrial research is focusing on low level software, and embedded systems in the avionics and automotive sector.

Learn more

Teaching

We are offering courses in Formal Methods, Model Checking, Computer-Aided Verification, Abstract Interpretation, and Decision Procedures. We are always looking for enthusiastic young people who are interested in a research project or thesis in the Bachelor, Master, and PhD programs.

Learn more

Talks (details)

VCLA
EunJung Kim
A parameterized algorithm for tree-cut width.
Mon, Jul 28 at 12:00
Seminar room Goedel, Favoritenstraße 9-11
details

VCLA
Jeff Z. Pan
Approximate Reasoning for Description Logics based Ontologies
Mon, Jul 14 at 15:00
Seminarroom von Neumann (Favoritenstrasse 9-11, ground floor)
details

VCLA
Sebastian Ordyniak
A more general approach for Backdoor Sets into SAT and CSP
Thu, Jul 10 at 10:00
Seminar Room Menger, 3rd floor, Favoritenstraße 9-11
details

VCLA
A linear-time algorithm for the orbit problem over cyclic groups
Tue, Jul 08 at 16:00
Seminar room 188/2, 4th floor of Favoritenstraße 9-11
details

VCLA
Gábor Erdélyi
Algorithms and Elections
Thu, Jun 12 at 12:15
Seminar room Goedel, Favoritenstraße 9-11
details

VCLA
Massimiliano Giacomin
An input/output characterization of abstract argumentation frameworks and semantics
Wed, Jun 04 at 10:00
Seminar room 187/2 (Favoritenstrasse 9-11, 2nd floor)
details

VCLA
Jakob Lechner
Mitigation of Transient Faults and Timing Variations in GALS Circuits
Thu, May 08 at 17:00
Seminar room Zemanek, Favoritenstraße 9-11, 1040 Vienna ground floor
details

VCLA
Son Cao Tran
Combining ASP and Prolog
Tue, Mar 25 at 12:00
lecture room FH HS7 (Wiedner Hauptstr. 8, yellow area, second floor)
details

RiSE seminar
Arnd Hartmanns
TBA
Thu, Mar 13 at 17:00
IST Austria
details

VCLA
M. S. Ramanujan
Parameterized Algorithms to Preserve Connectivity
Mon, Mar 03 at 17:00
Seminar room Goedel (Favoritenstrasse 9-11, ground floor, access through courtyard)
details

RiSE seminar
Daniel Gebler
Compositional Metric Reasoning with Probabilistic Process Calculi
Thu, Feb 06 at 17:00
IST Austria
details

RiSE seminar
Roland Meyer
Verification of Concurrent Programs under Relaxed Memory Models
Fri, Jan 31 at 16:30
IST Austria
details

RiSE seminar
Franz Wotawa
Test automation – How far shall we go?
Thu, Jan 09 at 17:00
TU Wien
details

VCLA
Matthias Mnich
A Complexity Dichotomy for the Steiner Multicut Problem
Wed, Jan 08 at 11:30
Zemanek seminar room (ground floor), Favoritenstraße 9-11, 1040 Vienna
details

RiSE seminar
Sergiy Bogomolov
Guided Search for Hybrid Systems
Thu, Nov 28 at 17:00
IST Austria
details

RiSE seminar
Jakob Ruess
Moment-based methods for parameter inference and experimental design for stochastic biochemical reaction networks.
Thu, Nov 21 at 17:00
IST Austria
details

RiSE seminar
Aniello Murano
Enriched Modal Logics
Thu, Nov 07 at 17:00
TU Wien
details

RiSE seminar
Sicun Gao
Models, Decisions, and Better Cyber-Physical Systems
Thu, Sep 19 at 16:00
IST Austria
details

RiSE seminar
Sicun Gao
Delta-Decisions over the Reals
Wed, Sep 18 at 15:00
TU Wien
details

RiSE seminar
Marcus Gelderie
Strategy Composition in Compositional Games
Tue, Sep 17 at 16:00
IST Austria
details